Oatmeal Banana Pancakes

Here’s an interesting new discovery in behavioral science: When the last conversation you have before going to sleep is about pancakes, you will wake up craving pancakes. This finding is based on not-exhaustive research consisting of a Facebook conversation I had with a friend about the Old Spanish Sugar Mill Restaurant in Deleon Springs State Park.

Pancakes on the griddle by Laurie Sterbens

Whole-grain Oatmeal Banana Pancakes on the griddle are a healthier way to satisfy a powerful pancake craving.

I didn’t make it to the restaurant during my recent visit, but my friend raved about the restaurant’s five-grain buckwheat pancakes and we agreed to meet there for breakfast in the near future.

In the meantime, I woke up with a fierce pancake craving, so I made a batch of my own. I hate that feeling you get after eating the standard white-flour pancakes covered with butter and sugary syrup. A full tummy combined with an insulin spike and crash, leaving me feeling like I want to go back to bed, is not the way I want to start my morning. I make Oatmeal Banana Pancakes, which are not only loaded with fiber but also are a great way to use that last, overripe banana. Also, you’ll notice they’re eggless. That’s because we have an egg allergy in the family, but you won’t miss the egg in this recipe.

Oatmeal Banana Pancakes

3/4 cup rolled oats

1 1/2 cups whole grain white flour

2 teaspoons baking powder

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

1/2 teaspoon salt

1 teaspoon sugar

1 teaspoon cinnamon

1 medium banana, pureed*

1 1/2 cups skim milk

Butter-flavored cooking spray

Mix together all dry ingredients. Add banana puree and skim milk and mix gently with a whisk until combined. Heat griddle to 350 degrees and spray with butter-flavored cooking spray.** Cook until pancakes begin to bubble, gently flip and cook to other side. Serving suggestion: Top with blueberries, walnuts and a drizzle of sugar-free syrup.

Oatmeal Banana Pancakes by Laurie Sterbens

Oatmeal Banana Pancakes, topped with fresh blueberries, walnuts and a drizzle of sugar-free syrup, won't leave you feeling like you'd like to go back to bed.

* A half-cup of applesauce also works well here — a handy way to use up those lunchbox-size applesauce cups that my son refuses to eat.

** I usually cheat here and add a pat of butter to the grill, or Smart Balance spread, if I’m feeling a little more virtuous. It just gives the outside of the cakes a better texture.

2 thoughts on “Oatmeal Banana Pancakes

Leave a Reply

