Not to be confused with Cake Boss

When your little boy turns 6 and he wants to have a birthday party, standard operational procedure is to call the bakery and tell them you need a Spider-Man cake or a baseball cake or a “Cars” cake, or whatever is the current kindergarten favorite.

When your little boy has a food allergy, you have to go to plan B. My son’s allergic to eggs, so I am now the proud owner of a growing collection of professional-looking cake-decorating equipment. I have more equipment than skill. Hey, there’s a reason the saying is “easy as pie.” Cake can be complicated.

Recently my son had a birthday and though we’ve managed to avoid it so far by taking him to theme parks, this time he wanted a party, and that meant a big birthday cake.

These days you can go to a craft store such as Michael’s and have a good chance of finding a kit for making a cake with a variety of popular themes. You currently have no chance of finding what my son wanted, which was a Bakugan cake. Bakugan toys are currently wildly popular with kindergarten boys and were developed by cruel Japanese artists who never considered that somebody might have to reproduce these characters in icing.

My son’s additional requirements were that the cake would be chocolate inside with white icing, with red trim and letters.

After determining that there wasn’t a ready-made kit available, I did a Google search to see what other Bakugan cakes had been attempted out there in Mommyland. There were some brave attempts to reproduce the logo in icing, but nothing really grabbed me.

My solution: First, my standard kindergarten occasion no-egg cake: Two boxes of reduced sugar cake mix. Instead of the three eggs called for per box, I used two parts powdered egg substitute (available at health food stores) and a half cup of applesauce. Baked in two 9×15 pans, they will be slightly more dense than regular cake and will make nice 1 1/2-inch layers.

Eggless Bakugan Cake by Laurie Sterbens

Eggless Drago Bakugan birthday cake by Laurie Sterbens

I slapped a layer of canned chocolate/chocolate chip frosting between the layers, then covered the entire cake with vanilla buttercream. For the decorations, I blew up a picture of the Bakugan figure Drago from a tracing book, traced that onto colored fondant with a toothpick, cut out the pieces and assembled the Drago on parchment paper, then added details with edible marker. I then reassembled the figure on top of the cake and added the red trim (and I would just like to say here that red gel food coloring is pretty disgusting stuff) and lettering. I also added a little fondant platform for the actual Drago toy, which my son also wanted on the cake. The empty space up front later held six red candles.

It’s not Cake Boss, but my son thought it was the coolest cake ever.

5 thoughts on “Not to be confused with Cake Boss

  1. Pingback: Another Eggless Cake: Kindergarten Graduation « Not Another Food Blog

    • To be honest, I’m not crazy about cake. Maybe the occasional really chocolatey one, but I kind of like to have some sort of nutritional justification for what I eat. At least with tarts and pies, you can stick some fruit in there and even whole grains. The decorating is kind of fun, though. Think I am going to start messing around with the cake part to see if I can healthy it up a little. Buttercream is gonna be buttercream, tho.

Leave a Reply

